Capital: Zagreb

Population: 4,290,612 (2011 census)

Location: Southeastern Europe 

Croatia is situated on the cross-roads between Central Europe and the Mediterranean, along the eastern coast of the Adriatic Sea and its hinterland. It streches from the hilly sides of the Alps on the North-West to the Panonnian plain on the East.
Southeastern Europe, bordering the Adriatic Sea, between Bosnia and Herzegovina
and Slovenia.
Continental in the Northern Croatia
Mountainous in the Central Croatia
Mediterranean along the Adriatic Coast (average of 2600 sunny hours per year)
Geographically diverse; flat plains along Hungarian border, low mountains and highlands near Adriatic coastline and islands.
Croatia is a country rich in natural resources, navigable rivers abundant with fish, plants and rare animal species, oak forests and hot springs. The beauty of Slavonian breadbasket, the forests of Gorski kotar, the picturesque hills of Hrvatsko zagorje and the sun-drenched Adriatic beaches will surely attract those who value distinctiveness, variety and richness of nature.
There are several categories of protected areas in Croatia: Strict Reserves (2), National Parks (8), Nature Parks (10), Special reserves, Park Forests and others. Each of them is characterized by distinctive traits and some have become a part of our identity, a part of the total image of Croatia. The Plitvička jezera National Park has been entered into the World Natural Heritage Register compiled by UNESCO.
Dubrovnik is a city of exceptional history, and is a world renowned monument of heritage and beauty (registered among the UNESCO World Heritage Monuments). It is also one of the most attractive and famous cities on the Mediterranean.
Diocletian, the Roman Emperor, spent the final years of his life near Aspalathos in Dalmatia, where he was born. There he built a massive palace, the original architecture of which was altered over time, however, throughout the ages, the overall structure changed very little. Within the Roman walls, a city developed. Even today, the beauty of the palace peristyles, Diocletian’s mausoleum, the Temple of Jupiter, the colonnade along the streets, the early Christian churches, the Romantic houses, the gates by Andrija Buvina and the architectural works of Juraj Dalmatinac. This historical core of today’s Split was added to the UNESCO World Heritage list in 1979.
Information source: The Government web portal